Mugs Adventures in Baking: “Healthy” Banana Bread

As much as I really wanted to make something pumpkin themed for my next baking attempt, I’d gotten a little carried away with how many bananas I’d stocked up on and had some extremely ripe ones sitting in the fridge just screaming to be used for banana bread!

I’ve been digging replacing oil in recipes with applesauce, and reducing the amount of regular flour by substituting some whole wheat flour, so this recipe from Hungry Girl looked perfect to try! (*Note – those are cutting some mighty generous slices to only get eight!*)

I’m pretty slow in the kitchen, (why I prefer cooking and baking alone generally so I’m not driving anyone else nuts, and don’t feel pressured to do everything faster.) Even still – this didn’t take long at all, and it’s delicious!

dry ingredients

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees!

Dry Ingredients: 1 1/4 cups whole-wheat flour
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup Splenda No Calorie Sweetener (granulated)
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt

Combine all the dry ingredients together in a mixing bowl.

wet ingredients

Wet Ingredients: 1 1/2 cups mashed ripe bananas (about 3 bananas)
1/2 cup fat-free liquid egg substitute (like Egg Beaters)
1/2 cup no-sugar-added applesauce
1 tsp. vanilla extract

mix wet

In a separate bowl, combine the wet ingredients. Mix these all up. I forgot to mash up the bananas first, and it didn’t seem to hurt anything so this is really a pretty fool proof recipe.

both bowls

As you can see here, I added a little bit of sugar-free homemade chocolate (I love Sally’s Baking Addiction!) to the mix.

mix

Now add the two bowls of ingredients together. Stir them until they’re pretty well blended.

blend

oven loaf

Then I poured the mixture into a loaf pan (that had been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray) and set that in the oven. The recipe says to let it bake for about 50 minutes, but I definitely left the pan in for a few minutes longer than that. I guess this part is your personal preference, but I didn’t want it to be super gooey.

pretty breadTada! The finished product. It’s the perfect morning on the run snack, or an after dinner dessert (I like to add a little sugar free cool whip or a scoop of icecream, you know plummet that nutritional value, haha.) I’ve eaten it several times, and I still have a few slices in the freezer! (It doesn’t taste bad microwaved to re-heat it later, at all!)

2 thoughts on “Mugs Adventures in Baking: “Healthy” Banana Bread

  1. love the sugar free chocolate in this!! I love banana bread. Oh and I enjoy baking alone too – I get too messy and too crazy in the kitchen hehe :)

    • Haha seriously, it’s an adventure but a messy/chaotic one! And yes I love your sugar free chocolate recipe, I feel like I incorporate in to so much stuff!

Leave a Comment

