I stayed up past my Sunday bedtime last night to watch the Oscars because that’s who I am – an awards show junkie. (Who knows perhaps this combined with going to sleep feeling awful contributed to me setting my alarm for PM instead of AM, and waking up an hour and a half later than normal – hello Monday!) I was happy for Octavia Spencer’s Best Supporting Actress win for her role as Minnie in The Help (read the book, see the movie – if you haven’t yet: just do it!) Obviously, I’m slacking on my Oscar nom’s game this year because I had only seen The Help, My Week with Marilyn, The Ides of March, Bridesmaids, and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2. Obviously, I need to see The Artist, Beginners (ugh! this one was at Miracle 5 the last weekend before it closed, and I missed it,) Drive, Midnight in Paris, luckily The Descendents is still in the theater here so I just need to hurry up on that one, and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close (read this book as well!) While I enjoyed watching, (because how could I not? The fashion, the magic, the glam, the humor! The craziness on the red carpet pre-show! What the heck was going on with “The Dictator” (ugh Sacha Baron Cohen) and Ryan Seacrest poor guy!) I can’t believe it was only a year ago Natalie Portman won for Black Swan (and that only a year ago she was pregnant! Gorgeous then, and gorgeous last night of course!) And I love things like how Michelle Williams date was Busy Phillips (Dawson’s Creek love anyone?) but I miss speeches that make me cry. Okay, Meryl’s had me a bit teary, but I got a little nostalgic for the 2010 Tonys, and this awesome moment for Katie Finneran, (which I blogged about when it first happened):

Leave a Comment

