Fresh Specs

Good Morning, everyone! It’s Thursday but I’m getting ready to head out-of-town tomorrow (much-anticipated beach trip with my girls!) so technically it’s my Friday. This makes me all kinds of happy, so perhaps that’s where this extra surge of energy has arrived from. (Or it could be the sugar rush from the mint brownie crumbs or molasses cookie pieces I ate when I bagged this morning?) No matter, the energy is here and I thought I’d make a blog appearance.

I’ve been wearing glasses since second grade. This has included an array of frames, from pink Oshkosh B’Gosh to Drew Carey style in middle school, to a brownish red pretty square frame I had in college. I love wearing glasses, but I’m kind of obsessive compulsive about the lens being spotless, so instead of having me rub a hole in the lens as I tried to clean them my mom thought it’d be a good idea for me to try contacts along the way. (Smart thinking, they don’t fog up in the Florida humidity walking from place to place!) Even still, I like to give my eyes a break from contacts at time, and my glasses are great for night-time reading, or traveling so I don’t fall asleep with my contacts in.  All of this to say, I’m always on the lookout for cool frames. I’ve always loved Lisa Loeb’s trademark specs, and I’m definitely a fan of Naomi’s of Rockstar Diaries but a few months ago my friend Megan suggested I try out Warby Parker. This conversation arose after a visit to my hometown and a Christmas party where I was a bit obsessed with my friend Brandon’s glasses (non-prescription by the way,) that resembled a pair of readers I’d admired while thrifting.

Then at New Years when I went to Orlando to visit my best friend on the planet JD, and ring in 2012 he gave me this pair of sweet hipster frames:

I had considered just hunting around forever for some cheap readers and getting my prescription lens put in, but then when I heard about Warby Parker (and how they have an awesome at-home try on option,) I knew I had to check them out! Plus like my beloved TOMs they’re a one for one program! What could be better than getting new glasses including frames and lenses for $95 AND someone in need getting a pair of glasses? Yeah, not a lot tops that! I’ve picked out a few frames for them to ship for me to try on, and I’ll let y’all know how it goes. Right now I’m leaning towards the Thatcher in Whiskey Tortoise, but we’ll see!

Leave a Comment

