Mugs Adventures in Baking: Funfetti Fudge

20120330-190346.jpg

My instagram version of the process.

Alright, so here are the supplies I used:

  • Measuring cup
  • Can Opener
  • Teaspoon
  • Large Mixing Bowl
  • Fork
  • Spatula
  • Microwave
  • Tin Foil
  • Pan (I used a glass 8×8 square)
Ingredients
  • One and a half bags of white chocolate chips (I used Hershey)
  • One can of Carnation sweetened condensed milk (14 oz.)
  • A few handfuls of sprinkles (I used “Marble Mix’Ins”)
  • 3tsp of Imitation Vanilla

So, last night I decided to attempt a recipe I found on Pinterest:Β Funfetti Fudge! I’m not the best in the kitchen, (oh my cake ball adventure was disastrous and basically a three-day process, but eventually yielded tasty results!) I thought to myself, hey there are only a few ingredients this can’t be that difficult right? Plus, one of the girl friends I’m meeting up with this weekend had a birthday a few weeks ago, so it’s a belated celebratory dessert since we couldn’t spend the day together. Oh dear though, why doesn’t anyone remind me that I always have such difficulty with white chocolate? I can never get it to melt. Victoria’s bowl of chips and condensed milk looks so smooth and creamy, and mine? It looked kind of lumpy…After consulting my housemate on her opinion of my bowl of chips and their accuracy of stirring I decided I should just take the plunge and forge on with the last few steps (it’s a short recipe mind you.) Anyway, here are some photographs documenting my latest kitchen escapade. I always enjoy food that involves sprinkles, so pretty. I(Also, I shared what was left of my mint brownies from Tuesday at work and with my housemate and dad, and everyone enjoyed them so this can’t be that bad.) I always feel a bit accomplished when I actually attempt to create something I’ve pinned, so I’ll take this as a personal check off the list!Β The girls seemed to approve of them this weekend, and we couldn’t stay away so I’d say this was a success!

As for the real making it process, pour the condensed milk and the chips in a big mixing bowl, and put it in the microwave. The recipe said for 2-3 minutes, but I definitely did it for closer to 7 in actuality, maybe even longer because mine just wasn’t melting. After you remove the bowl from the microwave, stir it up quickly while it’s still hot. Once you’re satisfied with the amount of blending (as smooth as possible,) go ahead and put in the 3 teaspoons of Vanilla. I substituted Baker’s Imitation Vanilla for Pure Vanilla Extract (it’s cheaper, and I already had some in the cabinet.) The Pinterest recipe calls for almond extract as well, but I didn’t pick it up at the store, and heeding my mother’s advice I just omitted it. I can’t imagine that this made a huge difference taste wise. Also, I was really nervous about folding the sprinkles in because I didn’t want them to turn the mix an ugly color, but luckily this didn’t happen. I just generously tossed in handfuls of sprinkles until I was satisfied with the distribution of color throughout the mixture, and folded them in with the spatula. Next I poured the mix in the glass pan I lined with tin foil until it was evenly spread throughout the pan. Then I just let it sit on the counter for a few hours before I went to bed, and let it chill in the refrigerator over night. The next morning I removed it and let it sit out on the counter for a few minutes to soften up, then cut it in cubes with a knife. I put the cubes in little baggies and tied them to bring them to the girls (see below.)

20120330-190706.jpg

The final product.

One thought on “Mugs Adventures in Baking: Funfetti Fudge

  1. Pingback: Treats and Treehouses « The Life of Mugs

Leave a Comment

