Around the World Through Tastebuds to…France?

Last Tuesday night my women’s Bible study group had a little “Around the World” tapas and desserts get together. It’s always nice to just relax and unwind with these girls, swapping funny stories, tales in cooking, the odd and entertaining moments of life that have occurred week to week. The variety of the spread was great, (you can tell that many of us were inspired by recipes on Pinterest) from lasagno cups to tiramisu cupcakes, there was something for everyone to enjoy and so delicious!

One of my favorite flavor combinations is chocolate and coconut, and since I was limited on time (having just gotten back to Tallahassee Monday afternoon,) I opted for this easy macaroon recipe my aunt had told me about. Literally, baking doesn’t get much more simple than this.

If you search recipes online a lot of them add several ingredients, but honestly all I used was:

  • one bag of coconut flakes (16 oz.)
  • one can of condensed milk (14 oz.)
  • one tsp. of pure vanilla extract

 

Pour all three ingredients together into a large mixing bowl and stir until completely blended. Then I put parchment paper on a cookie sheet (so the mixture wouldn’t stick,) and spooned out tons of the little cookies. I always seem to make things larger than necessary so the first round of macaroons were rather big. I am sure the consumers didn’t mind! My aunt suggested a baking time of 10-12 mins at 350 degrees F, but I like things to be a little browned and crispier so I left them in for about 24 minutes, checking periodically to make sure they didn’t burn.

I set them in a Tupperware container over night and then Tuesday after work I melted chocolate chips in the microwave, and drizzled the hot chocolate over the macaroons for a finished touch!

One thought on “Around the World Through Tastebuds to…France?

  1. Pingback: Treats and Treehouses « The Life of Mugs

Leave a Comment

