Top Ten Tuesday: SUMMER TBR

So, as I’ve stated before The Broke and the Bookish does her on “Top Ten Tuesday” posts, so mine is a little inspired by that. Last week’s was “Top Ten Beach Reads,” and today’s is supposed to be “Summer TBR.” I missed last week’s, though I’ll probably have a similar post soon!

Here are the books I plan on/hope to read this summer if I get my hands on them, (in no particular order!)

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson
This is one several people’s reading lists for the summer. Matson’s debut novel Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour was seriously an amazing novel, so I’ve been anticipating her next work. I know I should’ve pre-ordered this one, but I plan on devouring it as soon as I get my hands on it. The cover art is beautiful, and I really think this might be a perfect summer read. Set in the Pocono Mountains, Taylor’s family is spending one last summer at their lake house. I’m sure there will be a mix of all the best – romance, friendship, growing pains. I can’t wait!

 

   Being Friends with Boys by Tera Elan McVoy
McVoy actually went to high school in Tallahassee, which I think gets her tons of cool points  to begin with. She had some signed copies of her first book Pure, at the local Borders a few summers ago, so I fell for her writing then. I don’t think any of us will be disappointed by her fourth novel. Char’s always had guy friends, and not thought much of their “drama-free” friendships, until a new guy moves to town and her attraction to him kind of changes everything. Is it really ever easy “being friends with boys?”

 

  Off Balance by Dominque Moceanu
I didn’t find out about this memoir until I saw Moceanu on CNN yesterday. I was one of those kids who had a poster of her in my room from the 1996 Atlanta Olympics (remember the “Dream Team”?) I’d bought at the book fair. Like a lot of child star athletes, she has a dark story but she wanted to share her story in hopes of helping others. I really can’t wait to read it! (Also, after I Tweeted about her yesterday she started following me on Twitter! Awesome!)

 

 

 

Ruthless by Sara Shepard
I have this one on hold at the library, so as soon as I get that e-mail I’ll go pick it up. I don’t even know what to expect after the creepy on-goings in Twisted, but the series is an easy read and since they’re thrillers they keep me on my toes! When it comes to Pretty Little Liars, I like to be surprised!

 

 

 

 

  Unbreak my Heart by Melissa Walker
First of all, isn’t this cover gorgeous? Yeah, I thought so too! Walker is one of the writers for the I Heart Daily Newsletters, which share really cool stuff. I read her novel Small Town Sinners last fall and enjoyed it, so I’m curious to check this one out as well. Also, it seems like it has a good summer feel at least from first impressions. Summer love and sailing? Count me in!

 

 

 

 

  The Amanda Project Book 3: Shattered by Laurie Faria Stolarz
I was hooked from the beginning of The Amanda Project series (see book one, and two.) Who is Amanda Valentino? Where did she go? Why did she leave? Each story in this mystery series that progresses with input from readers, introduces clues to these questions but also leaves the audiences wondering more. (Sound familiar, PLL fans?) I’m behind the times and haven’t read this one yet, even though the fourth Unraveled is going to be released this month! I need to catch up! (Also, fun side note – I found out about these from I Heart Daily as well. They did a clue contest where I won a sticker and got a cool thing in the mail. Unfortunately, it got thrown out on accident by someone but that’s besides the point…)

 

The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach
Two friends recommended this novel to me in a Facebook thread about Looking for Alaska. I know you guys are probably always surprised when I’m reading things that aren’t YA fiction, but look! This list has a non-fiction title, AND a “grown-up” book. I’ve seen both John Green and Sarah Dessen Tweet about this book (nothing but gushing positive words!) So, with all that being said this book is finally in my possession and I plan on reading it super soon!

 

  The Maze Runner by James Dashner
I picked this book up during a Scholastic Warehouse sale back in December. Don’t ask me how it’s been on my shelf for that long, but I’m kind of a book hoarder (though I try not to be!) Anyway, honestly we all know I can’t really resist a good dystopian novel, so I’m pretty sure summer is the perfect time for me to cross this one off my list. (Note – it’s part of a series. Let’s see if I end up wanting to read all of them?)

 

 

 

  Commencement by J. Courtney Sullivan
I just picked this book up yesterday in a sale at Goodwill, actually. Though I’m sure it would have been better had I read it when I first discovered it back in 2010, the summer after my own college graduation. I stumbled across a description after reading Prep and it seemed really fitting for that time in my life. Heck, even being employed I still have some of the same feelings from that summer, so maybe I’ll still relate. Anyway, now that I own it I’m thinking it’s near the top of my TBR summer list!

 

Cupcakes and Cashmere by Emily Schuman
This one doesn’t actually come out until August, but that’s still summer so it’s making the cut! If you don’t read Emily’s blog yet, you totally should. The cool thing is that although the book will be similar to her blog, it’s not just a compilation of the same posts (I hate when that happens!) There will be tips, and how-tos on everything from home decor, baking, entertaining, make-up…really all kinds of stuff! She’s chic and fashionable, with exquisite taste that’s somehow the perfect combination of edgy, feminine, and classic. Plus, I’m sure the photographs will be gorgeous!

 

So there you have it! Is there anything you just can’t wait to read this summer? What’s on your list? Leave me a note!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: SUMMER TBR

    • Ahh of course, I have been anxiously awaiting it’s release! I just picked it up, and can’t wait to read it! 🙂 Thanks for writing awesome stories!

  1. Pingback: T-t-t-tuesday « The Life of Mugs

  2. Pingback: Read This: Being Friends with Boys « Meg Says

Leave a Comment

