Throwback Thursday #12: MySpace What

If any of you are anything like me and get sucked into marathons of TV shows that you’ve already seen before, than you’re probably aware of MTV replaying The Hills on “Retro MTV.” (The fact that enough years have supposedly passed since I was in high school, that shows that aired regularly then can be considered “retro” is bizarre to me, btw.) Nonetheless, like I’ve explained with the random TLC shows I get sucked into, I’ve found myself watching episode after episode of The Hills, again. In my defense, a lot of the time it’s on for some background noise while I’m cooking in the kitchen. Otherwise the house is just too creepy quiet. Also, is it just me or are LC’s story lines relatable no matter when you watch them? And I wish I’d paid closer attention  the first time I’d watched, and remembered some completely awful character traits *cough*Spencer*cough* (or JB even,) and committed them to memory to complete avoid people who displayed any of them later in life. Alas, I didn’t and now in retrospect I can see these trends of behaviors in people I spent time with and I just think to myself…what exactly was I thinking?! See, I could’ve learned a lesson! But you know, like Audrina says somethings we have to learn for ourselves, so it might not have been that helpful at the time anyway.

Ok, longest tangent ever to get to the point that in season one, when Spencer and Brody are actually checking their MySpace accounts and bragging about friend requests, I got the urge to check out my own dated profile. I haven’t been on there in forever, and here are some of the photos I dug up (some of these weren’t even taken on a digital camera…):

JD and I, I think we were sixteen? Hanging out at Lauralyn’s house. Probably making s’mores on the chiminea.

My hermana Kirsten and I at the Jimmy Eat World concert at House of Blues, meeting Tom! (Either 10th or 11th grade for me, I think January of 10th.)

Oh man, this pic is old. I think I was sixteen at the time (because I used my video camera I’d gotten for my birthday to take the still photo) on the train in England. Even older flashback? This was my LJ icon for forevvver.

With Ali, Kir’s roommate at Stetson. I’d never gotten ready to “go out” anywhere. Between the two of them they had about nine thousand and seventeen MAC eyeshadows, and they did my make up for the night.

With JD August of senior year, during the week we did AIM club activities, getting the incoming freshman ready to start school. I remember how several people commented on this photo thinking I looked like Lo (Bosworth) at the time. I don’t really see it.

My awesome pen pal Katherine made me that shirt! This was on the trampoline at my cousin’s house in Tallahassee, with my brother one football weekend.

With Theresa and Sunni at a bonfire at JD’s house.

Hanging out with Nate the summer of my senior year.

Another photo from Stetson, lounging on the floor with Asha in the dorms the weekend of a Jack’s Mannequin concert.

Oh man, we were such dorks. I remember this night, Luke Matt and I were hanging out watching a Beatles special on CNN (seriously.)

This photo is so random. It’s at my work (now,) where we tailgated when I was in high school. This was the weekend of the UF/FSU game. I don’t know if we were playing hide and seek or what.

With Kirsten and Parker, dress-up random photo shoot in my room after we were finally freeee from the AP English test!

With Lauren on the last day of school, my senior year her freshman year of high school.

My little bro and I one of the last weekends before I left for college.

Caption reads “P4L” which means pirates for life. Charlie, Kyle, me, Brad.

“What’s a friend? A single soul dwelling in ten bodies.” (Asha’s caption for this photo.) What’s better than a pile of friends?

Girls at the bowling alley. Classy.

Wedding table at Erin & Jon’s wedding!

The height difference is outta control.

Ok, here’s the thing – other than these random random photos with friends, there’s something else myspace is full of. (It appears the kids on Instagram are calling them “selfies” these days.) Photos of yourself, taken at totally unnatural angles, and lighting. So vain and ridiculous, but not unusual at all at the time. Sometimes your arm is stuck in the shot. A lot of times they’re zoomed in. It’s a wonder we remember where and when they were taken in the first place.

I think this was taken on the beach in Destin one night when my family was on vacation. This is such a “myspace” pic. Ugh. (Also, the captions on almost all of my photos are song lyrics. These were from Spoon “And we believe in the sum of ourselves. That’s the way we get by.”

I loved that tiedye shirt. And the caption to this was “Your voice was the soundtrack of my summer.” (from Boys Like Girls “Thunder” song.)

And The Decemberists “If you don’t love me, let me go.”

Or a My So Called Life quote: “Like your life just figured out how to get good. Like, that second.” Ohh, Angela Chase.

Myspace was the perfect spot for vain pictures of your new haircut.

Or quoting The OC while wearing a Jack’s Mannequin shirt. “In order for two halves to be whole, each half must be whole on its own.”

My albums were frequently spammed with playground photos. (And captions I probably felt so connected to at the time, like “You look like the songs that I’ve heard my whole life, coming true.”)

Or ones where you’re actually doing something (like I caught that fish with just that line at Cooter Pond that day!) But also, I’m pretty sure this is the day I started crying on the dock about prom. Sum up high school much?

What happens in college when you go social costume shopping at WalMart with your best friend.

My Blow Pop shirt! And another favorite song lyric “Not even chapped lips will stop me from kissing your sunburned cheeks.”

“Love just leaves you bruised” and actually managed curls, I probably took this before walking outside at all that day.

“You grew up and you sparkled, why don’t you care?” (Some favorite SoCo lyrics from “Walking By”) in one of my favorite formal dresses, ever. Oh you know just having a photo shoot in my Converse shoes in my living room. (Everything and nothing is normal about this.)

Shake my head…black and white, angles, sunglasses inside. Typical.

Sweet Duke, and I.

Leave a Comment

