Wednesday Words

For some reason all morning I’ve had a quote stuck in my head that I read for the first time about a year ago. It’s from poet, Simon Van Booy. Some of his works are on my Kindle reader. I kind of save my Kindle stories for times when I’m traveling, so I haven’t read all of them yet but he has quite the way with words. I am always astonished by the clarity of his thoughts, the connections I feel to them, and how this man can fit so much emotion into so few words. Being articulate is something I’ve always struggled with, (and with how badly I want to change that, you’d think I’d practice more.) I remember being in high school and just marveling over the eloquence of some of my friends words (even in simple conversation,) it was always a detail I admired. Booy’s graceful style, along with the intensity and passion that abounds each passage are so inspiring. Anyway, here are the beautiful words that have been reverberating:

“If there is such a thing as marriage, it takes place long before the ceremony: in a car on the way to the airport; or as a grey bedroom fills with dawn, one lover watching the other; or as two strangers stand together in the rain with no bus in sight, arms weighed down with shopping bags. You don’t know then. But later you realize – that was the moment.”

Leave a Comment

