Quality not Quantity

The Liberation of Max McTrue

Saw this quote on Tumblr (the image isn’t mine either,) yesterday and I just had to share. I know sometimes when I post things like this people think you’re looking for attention, or that you’re trying to say something else, but exactly what it says right there – is such a huge truth of life. I have had a certain loneliness creeping in lately. Sometimes it subsides, and sometimes it sneaks up on me and lingers with a strong force. I would much prefer alone time, to hanging out with superficial people I don’t feel connected to. I have some pretty incredible friends in my life, and I just have to suck it up and deal with the fact that the majority of them don’t live in the same zip code as me. It only makes our time together that much more special. The words that arrive in the mail, so dear to me. Our phone calls, precious. I think about them all the time, and I know they think of me. But sometimes you just want to drive down the road and plop on someone’s couch. Tell them what’s on your mind. Watch a common favorite movie or show, sharing some ice cream. Sometimes, it’s nice to have an adventure partner, or someone to have catch-up chats with over coffee. The thing is, it doesn’t matter if I’m doing these things with someone – if they’re not the right people.

Leave a Comment

