Top Ten Tuesday: Fictional Crushes

It’s funny I was just thinking this morning, I haven’t done a Top Ten Tuesday in a while…I wonder what today’s post will be? Well, it’s right up my alley! Today The Broke and The Bookish give us Top Ten Characters I Would Crush On If I Were Also a Fictional Character. Umm, I don’t even need to be a fictional character to compile this list. In fact, I know I’ve mentioned my love for some fictional characters before. Here, I’ll stick with books to make this a little bit easier, (but still – my list will be hard to narrow.) Also, I’m sure that some of these have been featured on many lists and won’t seem that original but they are pretty crush-worthy right?

(Disclaimer: The order of this list is not based on depth of crush.)

  1. Augustus Waters from The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. Because hello, he is AUGUSTUS WATERS. How do I not fall head over heels for this witty, intelligent, attractive human being? His heart is made of gold, he is fiercely loyal, ambitious, lovable. Gah.
  2. Laurie from Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. I can’t help it. Even when he makes me angry, it’s still so hard not to love him. Of course, I could see a million reasons why it wouldn’t work but they’re also some of the same things that make him so interesting: the passionate quarreling, the depth of sincerity and kindness, his love for the theatre. He travels, he’s well read, he’s smart and he can make you laugh.
  3. Jacob Grace from God Shaped Hole by Tiffanie Debartolo. He’s kind of this dream guy in the back of my mind. Like an indie soul mate. He’ll be your best friend. He’s got a wild spontaneous streak. He’s intense. Gracious. Intelligent. Deep. He has a wide variety of interests. He is so passionate. He’s mysterious. He loves music. He’s talented. He’s one of those characters that just seems interesting without even trying. The physical description doesn’t hurt either.
  4. Gilbert Blythe from Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maude Montgomery. I have a thing for lifelong crushes. I’m always rooting for them in the stories. You know, the ones that are there from the beginning (like Seth’s crush on Summer since first grade in The OC.) Gil is a classic example of this. He’s like the annoying kid who chases you on the playground and pulls your hair, but give it a few years and he’s the only person you want to sit next to in class, and you try and decode his valentine’s every year. He knows Anne, in and out. He admires her. He pushes her to be better. He loves her through and through for all that she is, not in spite of who she is. Ohh, he’s so swoon worthy it’s not even funny.
  5. Conrad Fisher from The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy by Jenny Han. (Okay, it’s hard to decide between Conrad and Jeremiah, but it’s always been Conrad…) Conrad is exactly the kind of boy I spent my childhood years crushing on. (At least personality wise. I never had boys at the beach when I was growing up.) He’s so…guarded until you get to know him. He’s got all those walls up, but behind them he is so sensitive. And vulnerable. And he remembers everything too, he’s been seeing everything always even if he’s not talking about it – it’s like it’s all stored up in a catalog. And he’ll talk to your mom. And he’s athletic, and strong, and smart. He’s tan and lean from all those days surfing at the beach. And he’ll fight for what he wants. From the moment I opened the book, I was like oh no. Because when you read about characters like this it’s impossible not to get caught up in their world.
  6. Peeta Mellark from The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins. The boy with the bread. Does this even need an explanation? (Though I will say I can see Gale’s appeal, but his heart made me sad by the end.)
  7. Etienne St.Clair from Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. Oh my word. I just wanted to give him a hug. If everyone got to go to high school with Etienne, it’d be about a million times better. Not only is he an incredible friend, beautiful, sensitive, in touch with his emotions, a great companion and tour guide – he’s got an accent to boot.
  8. Roger Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. I want to  hold Roger’s hand on the greatest road trip of all time. Belt out all the best songs. Learn new music. Hike through national parks. He’s smart. He’s definitely patient. Infinitely patient. He’s intuitive, but doesn’t let on that he has you figured out right away. He’s kind and charming. He’s funny in the witty way that intelligence yields. He’s in it for the long haul and he doesn’t scary away easy.
  9. Asher from The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder. “Elusive” was used on Good Reads, and I can’t argue with that. Cameron is a totally crushable character anyway because she’s so heartbreakingly honest. But really. I mean, he sticks around in the hardest situation. He’s strong. He’s tough. He’s got a soft side. He’s got that whole “hard to get” thing going on.
  10. I am in agreeance with all the people who say basically any male character Sarah Dessen writes about should be on this list. Like seriously. I don’t even know where to start. They’re all so good.

You know who else I was thinking about? Marcus from the Jessica Darling series (Sloppy Firsts…) He’s on a lot of lists, and why not? Totally swoon-able. He’s musically gifted. He’s stubborn but sweet. Iyiyi, see that’s more than ten, stopping now so this list doesn’t go on and on and on…

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Fictional Crushes

Leave a Comment

