Springtime Tallahassee Recap

I know I’ve mentioned the Springtime Tallahassee 10K several times over the past few weeks, well Saturday it finally arrived! Let me just say, I think it was one of the most fun races I’ve participated in yet. First of all, we couldn’t have requested more gorgeous weather to run in. The sun was shining, but it was about 49 degrees at the start, and there was a nice breeze. From what I’ve read it seems there were about 1,500 people participating in the races (10k/5k/1mi) so I won’t lie – it was crowded, but people were good sports. There wasn’t any pushing or rudeness that I encountered. Of course, after the first turn there were cars parked along the street so you got to do some fun maneuvering around car mirrors, but all that just adds to the excitement. (My cousin said he saw someone ducking under the mirrors, clever!) I parked at Chili’s a few blocks away from the Courthouse, and actually got there around the same time as my cousin Tim and his running partner Buddy, so we were able to head over together. Tim is one of the people who really inspired me to start running, but this was the first event we’ve done together (which was really exciting!) We’d already done early packet pick-up, so we used the time to do some warm up jogging around downtown. We started near the front, (which looked a lot closer until about two minutes to go-time and the gaps and space quickly filled in!) The race itself was fun, I lost Tim and Buddy around mile 1.5 but that was to be expected with how crowded it was. I found myself smiling as people would pass by I’d recognize from Monday night group runs. I loved that! Also, a sense of calm fell over me as the familiarity of the course came into view. I knew what turns were coming up, the spot before the golf course the dog always barks at, the hill I dread at the turn by the golf course. But then there were fun things people had told me about before too, like the house that plays the Chariots of Fire song from the front yard, or the house that had a yard full of spectators in lawn chairs eating breakfast. Then there was a little girl on a morning walk with her mom and dog, dragging a baby girl by the hand standing with this awe-struck look on her face as a rainbow of runners filed by smiling and waving. The race itself was great, I felt strong and consistent. Though I’ll admit – no matter what my race morning meal is at about the last quarter mile of any distance I almost always get this weird nauseous feeling. Maybe it’s excitement about nearing the finish line and always wanting to push that last bit? I don’t know but eventually I’ll figure it out. I reached a new PR for this race (52:16) and I am hoping to break 52 minutes for a 10K at some point this year. No matter, this was progress, and a beautifully fun run so it was awesome all around. The “after-party” was fun, too. After passing the finish line the 10K runners were given a pretty medal that matched our tech singlets, and a towel as well! There was free beer, too. (The good stuff – an ice cold Stella for me, mmm!) And I got to mingle with so many people from Monday nights and friends in town, and meet some of my cousins friends as well. All around – GREAT morning. This was my first time running the Springtime Tallahassee race, but it definitely won’t be my last. I look forward to participating again in the future! The race directors and organizers as well as the training group facilitators did an amazing job putting everything together and creating a smooth, wonderful experience!

 

I love when my bib has “27” in the number!

Total dork, but whatever – that’s a happy face.

Woah sun, I know but yay! My cousin Tim and I after the race!

After the race I ran to New Leaf to pick up a few groceries, and Jamie texted me: “Hey! Are you busy today?” of course not. So, we met up downtown and watched the parade together and wandered through the arts & crafts and snack booths. We got some tasty cookies from one stand and looked at some really pretty prints by local artists. Then Larry and Brody met us over by the library (they were having a book sale out front,) and we wandered through the children’s park area where the Star Wars cast was hanging out. Eventually Larry and I wandered over to Kleman Plaza and had lunch outside 101 (where there was wonderful live music by the fountain.) Though the food is good there,  it is not worth an hour and a half wait – I mean honestly? Boo! But it was too nice outside to be worried about it.


I love when the baby Star Metro bus makes an appearance!

Jamie and I post-parade hanging out by the library.

Brody hamming it up, of course everyone loved him!


Brody meeting R2D2. How sweet is that robot?!

So on the front steps of First Baptist there was a steel drum band that reminded me of Sea World, and then later they were playing songs from Little Mermaid and there was this traveling marine-life cart! You could pet stingrays and see great stuff like this cool starfish and crabs and stuff. Very cool!

Look at that face! Brody just chillin’ in the shade during lunch.

Larry, Brody and I post lunch.

The rest of the afternoon I took pretty easy with a nap and some light reading, until I joined my roommate for a sunset stroll at the Greenway. Sure my legs were a little tired, but I couldn’t resist!

It’s obvious why this is a favorite spot right?!

With a view like that, of course “I’m just sittin’ out here, watchin’ airplanes…” got stuck in my head.

Alex took this fun shot of Satchel and I. Isn’t the lighting awesome?

2 thoughts on “Springtime Tallahassee Recap

  1. I’ve been saying for the past two years that I’m going to join a running group and/or start participating in races. But then I always get nervous about it, cause I’m not the world’s greatest runner :p

    • Girl! Just do it 🙂 joining running groups in Tallahassee (and running period) has definitely saved my sanity. I never realized how much fun running with other people is, it’s really motivating/inspiring. Also, who cares about whether or not you’re a “great” runner – running is running that’s the beauty of it! I was SOOO nervous before the first one I signed up for but I was immediately hooked.

Leave a Comment

