Top Ten Tuesday: Words/Topics that Will Make Me Pick Up a Book

It’s Tuesday again, and I figured I’d jump on the bandwagon with The Broke and Bookish and clue you in on ten key words or topics that will pique my attention enough to pick up or buy a book. (Most generally, “pick up.”)

  • Summer Summer anything, I’m like hello sunshine book nice to meet you! A YA summer “romance” novel? All over it. Think the “Summer” trilogy by Jenny Han for example, or Sarah Dessen’s Along For the Ride (among others!) Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, The Probability of Miracles.
  • Road Trip I am all about it. Oh they’re going on a soul seeking road trip journey? Count me in! Morgan Matson’s Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour really set the bar for this category.
  • London or England Immediate attention grabber – no question. This one spans the genres.
  • Boarding School I never had a desire to go myself really, (well maybe temporarily in like fifth grade or if it meant someone was sending me to England or Australia) but put in a book? It’s like extended summer camp, or college for teenagers. Think Looking For Alaska, The Shades of London Series, Inside the Mind of Gideon Rayburn.
  • Summer Camp. So much potential all over the place. I LOVED Terra Elan McVoy’s The Summer of Firsts and Lasts.
  • Running. These days if it’s fiction or non fiction, and they mention running a lot? I’m hooked.
  • Public Transportation. If a character rides a subway, the tube, a school bus, a plane, taxi – frequently in the story? I wanna read it. They’re obviously gonna meet all kinds of characters on these adventures getting around! (That’s what sucked me into Eleanor and Park and Dash & Lilly’s Book of Dares, 13 Little Blue Envelopes.
  • Coming of Age. I’m a sucker for these. If it gets compared to Catcher in the Rye or The Perks of Being a Wallflower I’m gonna wanna see how it measures up.
  • Mix-Tape or Vinyl. The music nerd in me is instantly attracted. (Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, Eleanor & Park, Love is a Mixtape, High Fidelity.)
  • Dystopian. Now, I definitely don’t read all of them that I pick up but if a book has something even semi-dystopian going on about it (but less super natural) I’m intrigued. ThinkThe Hunger Games (obviously) but also end of the world-ish ones like How I Live Now or The Age of Miracles.

What about you? What attracts your attention with books? Have you read any of the ones I mentioned, or do we have key words in common? Let me know!

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Words/Topics that Will Make Me Pick Up a Book

Leave a Comment

