Top Ten Tuesday: Things to Read When You Need Something Light & Fun

Alright. Let’s get real: “light and fun” aren’t two adjectives that get used to describe most of my favorite books. Really, though. I’m all about those heart-wrenching, intense coming of age novels. BUT I do know some pretty good light-hearted titles as well. Some of the top reads that come to mind? I’m including most of these because they’re ones I think of that make me laugh! Even beach reads I like generally have some unexpected tragedy so I’m trying not to include sneaky titles like that!

  1. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling
  2. Seriously…I’m Kidding by Ellen DeGeneres
  3. Bossy Pants by Tina Fey
  4. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows (Though I would not call this “fluff” at all. There are certain heart-tugging moments but the easy laughter wins out.)
  5. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart
  6. The Year of Secret Assignments by Jaclyn Moriarty
  7. Stuff Christians Like by Jonathan Acuff
  8. Anything by Maureen Johnson. Go read her twitter feed even and I dare you not to laugh. Even though The Name of The Star is kind of scary, it still has hilarious parts.
  9. Ten Things We Did (And Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mlynowski
  10. Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging Louise Rennison
One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Things to Read When You Need Something Light & Fun

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Thursday | Me, Bookshelf and I

Leave a Comment

